Going to the Country - St. Florian

Sounds and Music - Concerts


11:00 - 11:30
Spire - Organ Concert I
Robert Kovács (Monastery Organist in St. Florian) and Charles Matthews (Spire) perform on the famous Brucknerorgel.

Robertsbridge Codex (c. 1335) - Estampie
J. S. Bach - Toccata and Fugue in F major
Liana Alexandra - Consonances III

Immediately afterwards, there'll be guided tours "through" the organ 11:30 & 12:00 - Reservations Required! German / English




14:30 - 15:30
Scapha: Concert by Hilke Fährmann and Jürgen Schneider
An impressive sound sculpture, an instrument that is unique in size and sound. Afterwards, there'll be a workshop chat with the artists. - German / English




16:00 - 16:45
Rupert Huber: Piano Improvisations
The Viennese digital composer (on an analog concert grand for this gig) will take full advantage of the Marble Hall's superb acoustics.




16:45 - 17:15
Inside Spire
Mike Harding and Charles Matthews talk about the ideas behind their exceptional music project Spire. - English



In der Gruft der Stiftsbasilika
17:15 - 18:15
Gregorianische Choräle




18:15 - 19:15
Bells Concert
Concert for an 8-tone set of bells; music composed and performed by Michael Nyman




19:30 - 21:00
Spire - Organ Concert II
In this second segment of the Spire concert, St. Florian organist Robert Kovács and Spire's Charles Matthews get together with Philip Jeck (live turntables) and Christian Fennesz (live electronics).



Anton Bruckner - Scherzo from Symphony no.2
Philip Jeck - Turntables


Franz Schmidt - Toccata C-Dur
Robert Schumann - Fugue no. 1 on BACH, and Study no.4
Robert Kovács - organ improvisation
Christian Fennesz - Electronics


Francis Routh - Mystery
Arvo Pärt - Pari Intervallo


Robert Kovács, Charles Matthews, Philip Jeck, Christian Fennesz



Spire is an organ-based project curated and produced by Mike Harding (Touch). It received an Honorary Mention in the category Digital Musics at Prix Ars Electronica 2006.



© Ars Electronica Center Linz Museumsgesellschaft mbH, Impressum, info@aec.at