Ars Electronica Center
Festival Ars Electronica
Prix Ars Electronica
Ars Electronica Futurelab

Christopher Ruckerbauer
T: +43.732.7272.38
F: +43.732.7272.638

Robert Bauernhansl
T: +43.732.7272.32
F: +43.732.7272.632
register now

Prix Ars Electronica 2005 is Good to Go!
World’s largest CyberArts competition – Six Golden Nicas and € 110,000 in prize money – Entries commence January 10th.

Creatives across the entire spectrum of media art and technology may begin submitting their work to the 2005 Prix Ars Electronica on January 10th. The categories range from [the next idea] and u19 competitions for young people to the classic Ars Electronica disciplines—Digital Musics, Net Vision, Computer Animation and Interactive Art—all the way to Digital Communities with its programmatic commitment to sociopolitical innovation. The deadline for submissions is March 10, 2005.
The Prix Ars Electronica is being held for the 19th time this year. This cyberarts competition is conceived as an open platform for works representing a broad spectrum of disciplines in the digital media field at the interface of art, technology and society. Since 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica is the most important and most successful international showcase of the best of digital media art.
To submit an entry, log on to www.aec.at/prix
The Categories

The "Computer Animation / Visual Effects" category has been part of the Prix Ars Electronica since its very inception. It recognizes excellence in independent work in the arts and sciences as well as in high-end commercial productions in the film, advertising and entertainment industries. In this category, artistic originality counts just as much as masterful technical achievement.

Contemporary digital sound productions from the broad spectrum of "electronica" come in for consideration in the "Digital Musics" category, as do works combining sound and media, computer compositions ranging from electro-acoustic to experimental music, and sound installations. This category's programmatic agenda is to expand horizons beyond the confines of individual genres and artistic currents.

The "Interactive Art" category is dedicated to interactive works in all forms and formats, from installations to performances. Here, particular consideration is given to the realization of a powerful artistic concept through the especially appropriate use of technologies, the innovativeness of the interaction design, and the work's inherent potential to expand the human radius of action.

The "Net Vision" category singles out for recognition artistic projects in the Internet that display brilliance in how they have been engineered, designed and—especially—conceived, works that are outstanding with respect to innovation, interface design and the originality of their content. The way in which a work of net-based art deals with the online medium is essential in this category.

For the second time in 2005, Prix Ars Electronica will honor important achievements by digital communities. This category focuses attention on the wide-ranging social impact of the Internet as well as on the latest developments in the fields of social software, mobile communications and wireless networks. "Digital Communities" spotlights bold and inspired innovations impacting human coexistence—efforts to bridge the geographical as well as gender-based digital divide, to create outstanding social software or to enhance the accessibility of technological-social infrastructure. This category showcases the political potential of digital and networked systems and is thus designed as a forum for the consideration of a broad spectrum of projects, programs, initiatives and phenomena in which social innovation is taking place, as it were, in real time. A Golden Nica, two Awards of Distinction and up to 12 Honorary Mentions will be awarded in the Digital Communities category in 2005.

[the next idea]
Art and Technology Grant
The aim of this grant focusing on the mutually enriching interplay of art and technology is to nurture concepts for the future that young thinkers are coming up with today. This category’s target group includes students at universities, art schools, polytechnic colleges and other educational institutions, as well as all other interested persons throughout the world between the ages of 19 and 27, who have developed a not-yet-realized concept in the fields of media art, media design or media technology. The winner will receive a € 7,500 grant and an invitation to spend a semester as scientific assistant and artist-in-residence at the Ars Electronica Futurelab.

u19 freestyle computing
“u19 freestyle computing” is Austria’s foremost computer competition for young people. Helping youngsters to bring their ideas to fruition and exhibit their work, and nurturing their abilities, creativity and inventiveness in working with modern technologies and new media is the mission of Prix Ars Electronica’s u19 freestyle computing category. Just as the name “freestyle computing” suggests, the spectrum of potential submissions is broad. And a perusal of the 1,103 entries in 2004 confirms that Austrian young people are giving free rein to their creativity. The list of past winners and recipients of Awards of Distinction and Honorary Mentions also displays great diversity, including groups of kids as well as individuals, primary school pupils and high school grads. The thematically wide-ranging creative encounter of Austrian youth with the kaleidoscope of modern technology is being played out in computer animation, robotics, Web design, interactive games and an array of other fields.

For further inquries please contact:

Wolfgang A. Bednarzek
Ars Electronica Center, Hauptstraße 2-4
4040 Linz, Austria

Office: 0043.732.7272.38
Mobile: 0043.664.81 26 156

© Ars Electronica Linz GmbH, info@aec.at