Some Sounds and Some Fury
Events, Concerts & Performances

Lentos, Brucknerhaus, Donaupark
03.09. 19:30-23:30

Some Sounds and Some Fury
A Grand Evening Concert
Charles Amirkhanian (US) Reinhold Bidner (AT) Brucknerorchester Linz (AT) Ludger Brümmer (DE) John Cage Dennis Russell Davies (US) Jorn Ebner (DE, UK) Naut Humon (US) Ryoichi Kurokawa (JP) Philippe Manoury (FR, US) Maki Namekawa (JP) Robert Praxmarer (AT) Masako Tanaka

Mediating between the realm of acoustic instruments and the domain of electronic and digital sounds is the prime mission of the long concert night that has become a fixed feature on Ars Electronica’s lineup. The great Bruckner Orchestra conducted by Dennis Russell Davies and featuring Maki Namekawa on piano will enable us to partake of extraordinary performances that span in virtuoso fashion the entire range bounded by these musical antipodes.

Moreover, the grand evening concert’s program represents not only an encounter of different musical worlds and generations; the music itself as a level of expression will also be provided with a visual augmentation. In conjunction with each of the works to be performed, a different artist has been invited to create a digital visualization that accompanies the composition, plumbs its depths, and even constitutes the artist’s own interpretation of the music.

Some Sounds and Some Fury is a further step in an ongoing collaboration between Brucknerhaus Linz
and Ars Electronica that attempts to create new experimental fusions between music and visual art.

19.30      Lentos


19.45      Lentos

Ludger Brümmer: Move – for piano, live electronics and video (Uraufführung)
Piano: Maki Namekawa
Music and Visuals by Ludger Brümmer
Space in Lentos is limited.

20.30      Brucknerhaus, Großer Saal

Philippe Manoury: Sound and Fury, pour grand orchestre (1999)
Visuals by 1n0ut (Robert Praxmarer, Reinhold Bidner)

John Cage: Concerto for Prepared Piano and Chamber Orchestra (1951)
Visuals by Jorn Ebner

Performed by Bruckner Orchester Linz / Dennis Russell Davies
Piano: Maki Namekawa

21.30      Klangpark

Music with Melody-Driven Electronics, by David Behrman

22:00      Brucknerhaus, Großer Saal

Charles Amirkhanian: Loudspeakers (for Morton Feldmann) (1990)

22:40      Brucknerhaus, Großer Saal

Ryoichi Kurokawa: audiovisual crossmedia concert
Music and Visuals by Ryoichi Kurokawa

23:10     Brucknerhaus, Großer Saal

Naut Humon, Ulrich Maiss, Masako Tanaka: Re-Machinations
Naut Humon: computer machine, Ulrich Maiss: cello machine, Masako Tanaka: image machine

Curators: Dennis Russell Davies, Naut Humon, Gerfried Stocker




© Ars Electronica Center Linz Museumsgesellschaft mbH, Impressum,