Site areas:
DeepSpaceExhibitions, ProjectsProgramm

The Memories of Borderline

SAT Sept. 9, 2017, 5:00 PM-5:30 PM
SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 12:00 PM-12:30 PM
Ars Electronica Center, Deep Space 8K

Credit: Cyber Räuber

CyberRäuber (DE), Schauspiel Dortmund (DE)

The Memories of Borderline is a unique merger of theater and virtual reality. Schauspiel Dortmund and CyberRäuber have cooperated to create a new virtual, immersive and interactive space based on the stage and performance of the acclaimed play Die Borderline Prozession.

While the three-hour play overwhelms its audience with a hail of simultaneous information, action, sound, text and performance, the VR scenery tells a story of memories and transience: from the moment one enters, the walls and textures show increasing traces of decomposition. In the background there is an atmospheric noise of music and texts, scenes that once might have taken place here. Scenes from Die Borderline Prozession are shown on the screens; life in all its facets in contrast to the transience of the virtual world.

As a work made for VR, The Memories of Borderline creates a new, hybrid form of art: a combination of visual art, media art, gaming and performance art. It explores the potential of theater working with new technology, creating an innovative form of narration in theater: the user becomes their own narrator.


Schauspiel Dortmund, CyberRäuber (Marcel Karnapke and Björn Lengers)
Director: Kay Voges, Schauspiel Dortmund
Engineering, 360° camera: Björn Lengers, Marcel Karnapke
Video art, motion capture: Mario Simon
Director of photography, lighting design: Voxi Bärenklau
Stage design: Michael Sieberock-Serafimowitsch
Costume design: Mona Ulrich
Composition, music: Tommy Finke
Coding: Lucas Pleß
Authors: Kay Voges, Dirk Baumann, Alexander Kerlin
Actors: Paulina Alpen, Amelie Barth, Andreas Beck, Carl Bruchhäuser, Raafat Daboul, Ekkehard Freye, Frank Genser, Caroline Hanke, Christoph Jöde, Thomas Kaschel, Marlena Keil, Nils Kretschmer, Anja Kunzmann, Bettina Lieder, Eva Verena Müller, Lorenz Nolting, Uwe Rohbeck, Uwe Schmieder, Julia Schubert, Friederike Tiefenbacher, David Vormweg, Merle Wasmuth, Michael Wischniowski